Dancers Nicole Vaughan-Diaz, Julian De Leon and T.J. Spaur. Photo by Paula Lobo

Unstruck, 2015

In a 25-minute trio, Unstruck, Weare experiments with how formlessness moves into form. Creating movement ideas that feel diffuse, spread apart or formless, she revisits material repetitively as it fills in, grows and accumulates over time. Within Unstruck, Weare pursues a series of questions about whether repetition helps make an viewer’s experience more meaningful, or causes it to become diffuse over time.

Saxophonist Curtis Robert Macdonald brings his unique blend of composition and improvisation to the original score for Unstruck. Macdonald contributes the idea of “Anahata Nad,” or unheard sound to the collaboration, and together, Weare and Macdonald chart how form comes into being through resonance, timbre, tone and emotional inflection.

Watch the Trailer

Thoughts from the Hothouse

Back in the Studio at CalArts

I'm still riding high from a fantastic two-week stint in the studio with company member, T.J. Spaur, at CalArts this May. We were given the opportunity to break in the brand new Evelyn Sharp CalArts Summer Choreographic Residency at my alma mater, and I knew it would be a unique feeling

read more


Choreography: Kate Weare
Original Score: Curtis Robert Macdonald
Costume Design: Brooke Cohen
Lighting Design: Mike Faba :
Originating Dancers: Julian De Leon, T. J. Spaur, Nicole Vaughan-Diaz


Unstruck is also a recipient of the New England Foundation for the Arts National Dance Project Touring Award, with lead funding from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with additional support from the National Endowment for the Arts. Additional touring locations include Florida Dance Festival, Bates Dance Festival, Keene State College, University of Albany, The Ringling Museum, ODC Theater. The creation of Unstruck is supported, in part, by The Joyce Theater’s Artist-In-Residence program, the Inaugural Evelyn Sharp CalArts Summer Choreographic Residency and by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.

Dancers Nicole Vaughan-Diaz, Julian De Leon and T.J. Spaur. Photo by Paula Lobo